Back to Videos

Jack Dempsey Long Count

A forgotten rule of the game became one of the most controversial rematches in boxing history. When Jack Dempsey knocked out Gene Tunney during a second match in 1927, Dempsey’s mistake led to Tunney having a few extra seconds to compose himself. The long count on September 22 cost the “Manassa Mauler” his title and redemption. But Dempsey’s record was still strong despite the career-ending mistake. He was inducted into the Boxing Hall of Fame in 1954.

Heidi Game Debacle

What does a little girl in braids who lives in the Swiss Alps have to do with football? Well ... more

John Glenn & The Mercury 7

John Glenn was part of the Mercury 7, NASA’s first group of seven astronauts. He was tasked ... more

Retrospectacle: Flagpole Sitting

It was a fad that became all the rage in 1924: flagpole sitting. It reached new heights when, ... more
see more videos
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise