Back to Videos

Jack Dempsey Long Count

A forgotten rule of the game became one of the most controversial rematches in boxing history. When Jack Dempsey knocked out Gene Tunney during a second match in 1927, Dempsey’s mistake led to Tunney having a few extra seconds to compose himself. The long count on September 22 cost the “Manassa Mauler” his title and redemption. But Dempsey’s record was still strong despite the career-ending mistake. He was inducted into the Boxing Hall of Fame in 1954.

Bill Remembers: Hurricane Camille

Bill Kurtis looks back on Hurricane Camille, which struck down in Mississippi during the summer ... more

Baseball Hits the Airwaves

The first broadcast play-by-play baseball game was initially done as an experiment on August ... more

Retrospectacle: Remembering the Mullet

What’s old is new and sometimes just won’t go away. The hairstyle known as the “mullet” ... more
see more videos
Contact | About | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise | Distribution | Do Not Sell My Information - CA Residents